L’environnement
pour tous

 
Fran P. Mainella décrit comment les Etats-Unis gèrent la « majesté des montagnes violettes » au profit de l’écotourisme, de la conservation écologique et du développement durable.

La traversée des paysages champêtres du Colorado à la fin du 19e siècle suffit à inspirer la poétesse Katherine Lee Bates qui écrivit l’hymne désormais célèbre « America the Beautiful ».

Elle fut frappée comme moi et d’innombrables visiteurs par la majesté de l’immense chaîne frontale des Montagnes Rocheuses. Pics couverts d’un manteau de neige, versants boisés, terres humides alpines ensoleillées – la beauté et la diversité de nos montagnes sont les joyaux du patrimoine naturel américain.

Principal organisme américain de gestion des terres, le Département de l’Intérieur est chargé de protéger des milliers de trésors naturels, d’Hawaii au Maine, et notamment 385 sites relevant des parcs nationaux, des dizaines de rivières sauvages et pittoresques, plus de 500 réserves nationales de faune et 2 000 autres aires de loisirs naturelles.

Le Département de l’Intérieur gère plus de 180 millions d’hectares appartenant au domaine public, soit environ 1 hectare sur 5 aux Etats-Unis, et accueille un demi-milliard de visiteurs par an, créant des moteurs économiques pour les communautés de tout le pays. Ces terres abritent une diversité biologique et naturelle spectaculaire, et l’on y trouve des exemples de la quasi-totalité des types d’écosystèmes d’Amérique du Nord. Huit parcs nationaux américains sur dix parmi les plus visités contiennent des écosystèmes de montagne.

En qualité de gestionnaire de ce vaste domaine public, le Département est chargé de préserver ces terres pour leurs valeurs écologiques et pour le plaisir des populations. Elles jouent un rôle essentiel dans la préservation des systèmes naturels, de la faune et des communautés locales. Fort de plus d’un siècle d’expérience, le Département de l’Intérieur sait associer la gestion de l’environnement et la vitalité économique des sites.

Au moment où nous célébrons l’Année internationale de l’écotourisme et l’Année internationale de la montagne, je voudrais faire quelques remarques concernant les contributions des Etats-Unis à la conservation écologique, au tourisme naturel et au développement durable dans les écosystèmes de montagne.

Au sens large, l’écotourisme favorise activement la conservation de la diversité biologique unique de la Terre, puisqu’il élabore des pratiques touristiques qui protègent les terres, l’eau et la faune. Dans cette perspective, le concept des parcs nationaux – la protection de vastes aires naturelles pour que les générations futures puissent les visiter et les apprécier – fut un jalon important de notre histoire.

Le Système américain des parcs nationaux est né suite à une volonté de protéger le patrimoine naturel de l’Ouest américain. Au milieu du 19e siècle, Henry David Thoreau, un des penseurs les plus féconds d’Amérique, parla avec éloquence de l’importance des sites américains sauvages et isolés. A la fin des années 1860, la vision « transcendantale » de la nature préconisée par Thoreau et ses pairs inspira toute une génération d’écologistes qui demandèrent la protection des systèmes naturels et obtinrent l’ouverture de Yellowstone.

La loi de 1872 établissant le Parc national de Yellowstone « pour le bien et le plaisir de la population », prévoyait la préservation de tout arbre, tout dépôt minéral, toute curiosité naturelle et merveille du parc « dans son état naturel ». Premier parc national du monde, Yellowstone contient une diversité d’écosystèmes montagnards inégalée aux Etats-Unis.

Cette loi à caractère historique est à l’origine des deux missions fondamentales du Service des parcs nationaux – la préservation des ressources et l’usage récréationnel – double mandat qui exigeait d’équilibrer les intérêts en présence. En 1915, il existait déjà 35 parcs, dont plusieurs écosystèmes de montagne comme Yosemite et Sequoia en Californie et Mount Rainier dans l’Etat de Washington. De nombreuses lois et réglementations furent élaborées pour conférer au Service des parcs nationaux l’autorité nécessaire pour poursuivre sa double mission.

Développement du mouvement écologiste
Dès la fin du 19e siècle, le mouvement écologiste américain s’était transformé en croisade pour la gestion scientifique de toutes les terres et eaux publiques. Le mouvement préconisait un concept qui, un siècle plus tard, a évolué pour devenir le « développement durable » – la gestion des terres publiques permettant la mise en valeur de leurs forêts, minéraux, pâturages et ressources en eau, sans porter atteinte à leur santé écologique.

Le mouvement prit un grand essor sous la présidence de Théodore Roosevelt, passionné de chasse et de nature, qui croyait fermement à la conservation de nos ressources naturelles et à leur caractère récréatif. Durant sa présidence, il fournit son appui à la conservation des terres publiques, des eaux et de la faune, créant le Système national des réserves de faune et le Service américain des forêts, et classant 18 sites du domaine public dans la catégorie parcs et monuments.

Les défis d’aujourd’hui
Les grands organismes de gestion des terres du Département de l’Intérieur – le Service des parcs nationaux, le Service américain des poissons et de la faune, le Bureau de la gestion des terres et le Bureau de la réhabilitation – continuent à relever les défis du monde actuel. Ils travaillent avec tout un éventail de partenaires publics et privés. Ils utilisent des outils scientifiques de décision et les derniers dispositifs d’analyse et de suivi des ressources naturelles, notamment l’imagerie par satellite, les systèmes de GPS, les systèmes d’information géographique et l’informatique.

Le service des Etudes géologiques, principal organisme scientifique du Département, travaille avec les différents bureaux de gestion des terres et effectue un vaste éventail d’études écologiques qui aident les dirigeants du Département à remplir leur mission de préservation et de protection du patrimoine naturel de la nation pour les générations futures.

Les organismes de gestion des terres du Département de l’Intérieur effectuent également des recherches approfondies sur la capacité en visiteurs des parcs, réserves et autres domaines naturels afin de déterminer le nombre et le type de visiteurs que ces sites peuvent accueillir sans que leur intégrité biologique et naturelle se trouve compromise. D'autres projets connexes collectent des informations sur la qualité de l’expérience offerte au visiteur dans les parcs.

Les données recueillies au cours des recherches sur les ressources naturelles et de celles relatives aux visiteurs sont intégrées à une planification stratégique et elles servent de guide aux dirigeants chargés d’élaborer des plans opérationnels pour certains parcs, réserves et sites récréatifs, et de prendre des décisions cruciales pouvant avoir un impact sur l’avenir de ces aires naturelles.

Les terres gérées par le Département de l’Intérieur et qui possèdent des caractéristiques écologiques particulières bénéficient d’une protection spéciale. Beaucoup sont classées « zones sauvages », d’autres « réserves naturelles ». En général, elles sont fermées à la circulation et la construction de nouvelles routes est réglementée. Dans ces paysages, les activités de loisirs se limitent à la randonnée, à l’exploration, à l’ornithologie, à la photographie et à d’autres activités à faible impact humain.

Récemment, un certain nombre des paysages les plus sauvages et les plus spectaculaires de l’Ouest américain, dont de nombreux écosystèmes de montagne, ont été intégrés à un Système national de conservation des paysages. Géré par le Bureau de la gestion des terres, ce système veille à ce que le public puisse jouir de la solitude et de la splendeur de ces terres vierges et à ce que les générations futures puissent profiter de ces grands espaces.

Ces initiatives concernent les terres du domaine public placées sous la protection du Département de l’Intérieur, mais nos gestionnaires ne peuvent plus désormais se concentrer uniquement sur les conditions prévalant dans leurs parcs respectifs. Il n’est plus possible de gérer correctement les terres publiques en respectant des limites standardisées – sans tenir compte des bassins versants, des couloirs de migration des animaux, des panoramas et d’autres préoccupations écologiques.

Projets novateurs
Il est donc de plus en plus important que le Département de l’Intérieur incite les propriétaires privés et les communautés locales à travailler sur des projets novateurs et qu’il crée des incitations à restaurer et à protéger les sites naturels. Dans le cadre de l’exercice budgétaire 2002 du Président Bush, le Département de l’Intérieur propose un programme compétitif de promotion de la gestion par les citoyens. Baptisé « Initiative coopérative de conservation », le programme encouragera les partages de coût pour des projets allant du reverdissement à petite échelle pour lutter contre l’érosion du sol aux initiatives de protection des bassins versants à l’échelle de tout un écosystème.

Utilisation traditionnelle
Des incitations similaires existent déjà dans le cadre de deux initiatives présidentielles lancées en 2002, le Programme d’incitation des propriétaires terriens et celui de la Gestion naturelle privée. Ces initiatives fournissent une aide technique et financière aux Etats et aux propriétaires terriens qui s’intéressent à la conservation des habitats de la faune tout en continuant à utiliser leurs terres de manière traditionnelle.

Pour que la conservation soit couronnée de succès, il faut obtenir la participation de ceux qui vivent et travaillent sur les terres protégées, et qui les aiment. Lorsque les populations participent à la gestion des ressources naturelles, elles prennent la responsabilité de la conservation en entreprenant des projets d’intérêt local. La plupart des Américains, notamment ceux dont les moyens d’existence sont liés à la terre, sont prêts à relever le défi de ce que Gale Norton, ministre de l’Intérieur, a qualifié de « Nouvel environnementalisme ».

Ce qui nous amène à un autre objectif important de l’écotourisme – favoriser le développement économique et social des populations vivant à proximité des sites naturels. Cela implique que les communautés locales aient leur mot à dire dans la gestion de nos terres.

Les sites de loisirs extérieurs gérés par les organisations du Département de l’Intérieur font vivre des milliers de communautés locales qui bénéficient du tourisme naturel en fournissant toute une gamme de services aux visiteurs épris de randonnée, de pêche, d’escalade, de rafting, de ski de fond, de cyclotourisme, d’utilisation de certains véhicules motorisés et d’ornithologie.

Ce sont parmi les entreprises les plus florissantes des communautés de montagne américaines. Ces communautés « d’accès » et les groupes de soutien qu’elles forment pour aider à conserver les écosystèmes jouent un rôle important dans la création d’une stabilité économique et d’une gestion environnementale.

En conclusion, je voudrais souligner l’importance de l’éducation pour inciter le public à apprécier et soutenir davantage la protection de la diversité biologique. Un excellent exemple de ce type de sensibilisation au niveau national et international a eu lieu lors des Jeux Olympiques d’hiver de Salt Lake City en février dernier.

Fermement braqués sur les Jeux Olympiques, les projecteurs ont également éclairé la beauté des paysages et le dynamisme de l’Utah et de l’Intermountain de l’Ouest américain. En Utah, les organismes de conservation d’Etat et fédéraux ont travaillé en collaboration d’une étroitesse exceptionnelle dans le cadre de l’important effort fait pour accueillir le monde entier.

Ils ont formé le Partenariat des terres publiques d’Amérique, qui a pris de nombreuses initiatives pour remplir sa mission d’information des visiteurs concernant les parcs, les réserves et les sites récréatifs, et l’importance de leur conservation. Le Partenariat a fait appel à une approche intégrée pour parler de ces terres en tant qu’ensemble intégré et non en fonction des responsabilités des divers organismes concernés.

Le message donnait aux visiteurs olympiques une vision de l’idéal démocratique américain – les valeurs et l’histoire qui sous-tendent la conservation et l’utilisation des précieuses ressources naturelles de l’Amérique « pour le peuple ».

La gestion des terres publiques est d’une importance cruciale pour leur conservation et, partant, pour la vitalité économique des communautés dont les moyens d’existence en dépendent. Le soutien, la coopération et l’engagement des populations dans cet effort sont tout aussi vitaux si nous voulons préserver la « majesté des montagnes violettes » qui ont inspiré tant d’Américains et de visiteurs du monde entier


Fran P. Mainella est Directrice du Service des parcs nationaux, Etats-Unis.

PHOTOGRAPH: Lee Weise/UNEP/Topham


Ce numéro:
Sommaire | Editorial K. Toepfer | Sauvons notre patrimoine commun | Visons haut | Puissantes, mais fragiles | Le pays des mille montagnes | Le reboisement des terres | L’environnement pour tous | De hautes priorités | Une beauté naturelle | Perspectives pour le Sommet : A l’approche de Johannesburg | Une dure ascension | Soyons à la hauteur du problème | Disneyland ou diversité ? | Un chemin de découverte | La plus haute importance | Rencontre au sommet | En remontant le courant | Un avenir nébuleux


Articles complémentaires:
Dans le numéro Biodiversity 2000
AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment:
Population and biodiversity
AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment:
Population and landuse


Report complémentaire:
Mountain Watch Report

For
the people

 
Fran P. Mainella describes how the United States manages its ‘purple mountain majesties’ for ecotourism, ecological conservation and sustainable development

A journey through Colorado’s rustic landscape in the late 19th century was enough to inspire poet Katharine Lee Bates to write the now famous hymn, ‘America the Beautiful’.

She was struck, as I and countless others have been, by the majesty of the Rocky Mountains’ towering front range. From snow-mantled peaks, to forested slopes, to sun-kissed alpine wetlands, the beauty and ecological diversity of our mountains are crown jewels of America’s natural heritage.

As the principal land management agency in the United States, the Department of the Interior is entrusted with protecting thousands of natural treasures from Hawaii to Maine, including 385 sites in the National Park System, dozens of wild and scenic rivers, more than 500 national wildlife refuges, and 2,000 other natural recreational areas.

Interior manages 183 million hectares of public lands, or more than 1 out of every 5 hectares in the United States, and records half a billion visits a year, creating economic engines for communities across the country. These lands contain spectacular biological and natural diversity, with examples of virtually every kind of ecosystem in North America. Eight of the ten most visited US National Parks contain mountain ecosystems.

As steward of this vast public domain, the Department is charged with preserving these lands for the enjoyment of people and for their ecological values. They play critical roles in sustaining natural systems, wildlife and local communities. Interior has more than a century of experience in making environmental stewardship compatible with economic vitality.

As we celebrate the International Year of Ecotourism and the International Year of Mountains, I would like to share a few observations about the United States’ contributions to ecological conservation, nature tourism and sustainable development in mountain ecosystems.

Promoting conservation
In its broadest sense, ecotourism actively promotes the conservation of the Earth’s unique biodiversity by developing tourism practices that protect land, water and wildlife. From this perspective, the concept of National Parks – of setting aside large natural areas to conserve them for future generations to visit and enjoy – was a major milestone in history.

The US National Park System emerged in response to growing support for protecting some of the natural beauty of the American West. In the mid-19th century, Henry David Thoreau, one of America’s most fertile thinkers, spoke eloquently on the importance of America’s wild and remote places. By the late 1860s, the ‘transcendental’ view of nature that Thoreau and his peers had popularized inspired a generation of conservationists who pushed for the protection of natural systems, leading to the establishment of Yellowstone.

The 1872 law establishing Yellowstone National Park ‘for the benefit and enjoyment of the people’ provided for the preservation of all timber, mineral deposits, natural curiosities and wonders in the Park ‘in their natural condition’. The world’s first National Park, Yellowstone, contains a diversity of mountain ecosystems unmatched in the United States.

This historic legislation set in motion the primary National Park Service missions of resource preservation and recreational use – a dual mandate, requiring a balance of interests. By 1915, 35 parks had been established, including diverse mountain ecosystems such as Yosemite and Sequoia in California, and Mount Rainier in Washington. A large body of laws and regulations also evolved to provide the National Park Service with the necessary authorities to carry out its dual missions.

By the end of the 19th century, the American conservation movement had swelled into a crusade for the scientific management of all public lands and waters. The movement promulgated the concept that evolved a century later into what is now known as ‘sustainable development' – the management of public lands to provide for the development of their timber, mineral, grazing and water resources, without damaging their ecological health.

The movement blossomed under President Theodore Roosevelt, a passionate outdoorsman and hunter who fervently believed in the conservation of our natural resources and the enjoyment of those resources. He put the weight of his presidency behind conserving public lands, waters and wildlife, establishing the National Wildlife Refuge System and the US Forest Service and designating 18 areas of public lands as parks and monuments.

Increasing pressures
Conserving these public lands while providing for visitors was easier in the 19th and early 20th centuries. With the growth of population and expansion of the US economy, however, pressures have increased correspondingly on America’s undeveloped land, water resources and wildlife.

But Interior’s major land management agencies – the National Park Service, US Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management, and Bureau of Reclamation – continue to meet the challenges of today’s world. They are working with a wide circle of public and private partners and using science-based decision-making and the latest natural resource monitoring and analytical tools, including satellite imagery, Global Positioning Systems, Geographic Information Systems and Information Technology.
‘Our forefathers looked after animals and fish... there wasn’t any dynamite, they didn’t pollute the rivers, but cared for their rivers and forests’

Cecilio, Mountain Voices

The US Geological Survey, the department’s chief science agency, works with each of the land management bureaus to carry out a vast array of ecological studies that help Interior land managers fulfil their mission to preserve and protect the nation’s natural heritage for future generations.

Several major initiatives to advance the conservation of natural resources on Interior lands are noteworthy. The National Park Service’s Natural Resource Challenge, for example, is accelerating biological resource inventories, expanding scientific research through collaborative programmes, improving resource monitoring, and increasing the protection of wildlife and its habitat.

Interior land management agencies also carry out extensive research on the visitor capacity of parks, refuges and other natural areas to determine the number and type of visitors these sites can accommodate while maintaining the biological and natural integrity of the areas. Related projects gather information on the quality of visitor experiences in the parks.

The data gathered through natural resource research and related visitor research are integrated into strategic planning and guide managers as they develop operational plans for individual parks, refuges and recreational units and make critical decisions that can affect the future of these natural areas.

Interior managed lands that have special ecological characteristics are provided with special protection. Many are designated as wilderness areas, others as nature preserves. Typically, these areas are closed to vehicle traffic, and new road building and recreational activities on these landscapes are restricted to hiking, exploring, bird watching, nature photography and other pursuits that limit potential human impacts.

Recently, a number of the most rugged and remarkable landscapes in the American West, including many mountain ecosystems, have been placed in a National Landscape Conservation System. Managed by the Bureau of Land Management, this system ensures that the public can experience the solitude and splendour of these undeveloped lands and that future generations will be able to enjoy these great open spaces.

While these initiatives focus on the public lands under Interior’s stewardship, our land managers no longer have the luxury of focusing solely on conditions inside their respective parks. Public lands can no longer be successfully managed according to standardized boundary lines – without regard to watersheds, animal migration routes, vistas and other ecologically based concerns.

It is increasingly important, therefore, that the Department of the Interior enlist private landowners and local communities to work on projects that foster innovation and create incentives to restore and protect natural areas. Under President Bush’s fiscal year 2002 budget, Interior is proposing a competitive programme that promotes citizen stewardship. Called the Cooperative Conservation Initiative, the programme will encourage cost-shared projects that vary from small-scale revegetation for erosion control to ecosystem-scale watershed protection efforts.

Presidential initiatives
Similar incentives are also provided under two presidential initiatives begun in 2002 – the Landowner Incentive and Private Stewardship programmes. These initiatives provide technical and financial help to states and private landowners who are interested in conserving wildlife habitat while continuing to engage in traditional land-use practices.

For conservation to be successful, we must involve the people who live on, work on and love the land. Citizen participation in the stewardship of natural resources helps people take conservation into their own hands by undertaking projects at the local level. Most Americans, especially those who depend on the land for their livelihood, are ready and willing to step up to the challenge of what Interior Secretary Gale Norton calls the New Environmentalism.

That brings us to another important goal of ecotourism – to support the economic and social development of people living close to these natural areas. This includes ensuring that local communities have a voice in the management of our lands.

The outdoor recreation sites managed by Interior agencies support thousands of local communities that benefit from nature tourism by providing a wide range of services to visitors who enjoy backpacking, fishing, climbing, river rafting, cross-country skiing, biking, use of some motorized vehicles and bird watching.

These are among the most thriving businesses in America’s mountain communities. These ‘gateway’ communities – and the support groups they form to help conserve the ecosystems – play an important role in creating economic security and environmental stewardship.

In conclusion, I want to emphasize the importance of education in building public appreciation and support for conserving biodiversity. An impressive example of this type of outreach on the national and international level took place at the Winter Olympic Games in Salt Lake City in February of this year.

As the global spotlight focused on the Olympics, it also shined on the scenic beauty and economic dynamism of Utah and America’s Intermountain West. State and federal land conservation agencies in Utah worked in exceptionally close collaboration as a major part of the effort to welcome the world to Utah.

They formed the America’s Public Lands Partnership that developed a wide range of initiatives to carry out its mission of informing visitors about parks, refuges and recreational areas and the importance of their conservation. The partnership used an integrated approach to talk about these lands as an integrated whole, rather than by agency jurisdiction.

The message conveyed to Olympic visitors a cornerstone of the American democratic ideal – the values and history that underlie the conservation and use of America’s precious natural resources ‘for the people’.

The management of public lands is critically important for their conservation and, in turn, for the economic vitality of the communities that depend on them for their livelihood. The support, cooperation and engagement of citizens in this effort is equally vital if we are to maintain the ‘purple mountain majesties’ that have inspired so many Americans and visitors from around the world


Fran P. Mainella is Director, US National Park Service.

PHOTOGRAPH: Lee Weise/UNEP/Topham


This issue:
Contents | Editorial K. Toepfer | Saving the common land | Aiming high | Mighty, but fragile | Walking the talk | Regreening the slopes | For the people | High priorities | Natural beauty | Prospects for WSSD: Towards Johannesburg | Along a steep pathway | The height of trouble | Disneyland or diversity? | Path to discovery | On top of the issue | Peak condition | Swimming upstream | Cloudy future


Complementary articles in other issues:
Issue on Biodiversity 2000
AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment:
Population and biodiversity
AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment:
Population and landuse


Complementary report:
Mountain Watch Report